30.09. - 09.10.2021

Guest of Honor Canada 2019 | 105 min | OV with German subtitles | Colour | FF 2019

Atom Egoyan

ATOM EGOYAN (*1960) is one of Canada’s best-known directors. His drama The Sweet Hereafter won many awards, including the Jury Prize at Cannes in 1997.

rated for 0 + years
Douglas Sirk Prize-winner Atom Egoyan returns to the big screen with the sophisticated drama Guest of Honor. Jim is shocked when his daughter Veronica, a young high school music teacher, is arrested for allegedly abusing her authority in the case of a 17-year old pupil. And, although the whole thing turns out to be a joke, Veronica is convinced that she deserves to be punished – albeit for an incident that happened long ago. She successfully resists all Jim’s attempts to get her released early. Frustrated by Veronica‘s recalcitrance, Jim then finds that the power structures in his professional life have also started to change.

Supported by:

Original title: Guest of Honor
Film type: Fiction Feature
Original language: English
Section: Transatlantic
Language and subtitles: OV with German subtitles
Director: Atom Egoyan
Screenplay: Atom Egoyan
Cast: David Thewlis, Laysla De Oliveira, Luke Wilson, Rossif Sutherland, Alexandre Bourgeois, Arsinée Khanjian, Sima Fisher, Tennille Read, Gage Munroe, Sugith Varughese, Tamara Podemski, John Bourgeois, Isabelle Franca, Sochi Fried, Juan Carlos Velis, Joyce Rivera, Alexander Marsh
Producer: Simone Urdl, Jennifer Weiss, Atom Egoyan
Director of Photography: Paul Sarossy
Music: Mychael Danna
Production Design: Phillip Barker
Editor: Susan Shipton
Sound: 0
Costume design:
Commissioning Editor:
Format: dcp
German Distributor:
World Sales: Playtime
Production: The Film Farm; Ego Film Arts
Contact: Joris Boyer, Playtime:


Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10