30.09. - 09.10.2021

The Favourite United Kingdom, Ireland, USA 2017 | 119 min | OV with German subtitles | Colour | FF 2018

Yorgos Lanthimos

Since his film Dogtooth (2009), YORGOS LANTHIMOS (*1973) has been recognized as a powerful, idiosyncratic voice in European genre cinema. The Lobster (2015) was nominated for an Oscar for best screenplay and was shown at FILMFEST HAMBURG, as was his last film The Killing of a Sacred Deer (2017).

rated for 0 + years
In his new film, Yorgos Lanthimos weaves a complex web of intrigue, envy and treachery about lady-in-waiting Abigail (Emma Stone). 
The early 18th century. England is at war with France and the courtiers while away their time with duck-racing and discovering the pineapple. Queen Anne (Olivia Colman) is wasting away and the real power lies in the hands of her close friend and lady-in-waiting Lady Sarah (Rachel Weisz). As politics occupies more and more of Lady Sarah's time, the new lady-in-waiting Abigail (Emma Stone) takes her place as the confidante at the queen's side. Abigail is now free to realize her ambitious goals -- and the balance of power begins to shift.  

Supported by:
Bildergebnis für hamburg school of english logo
Original title: The Favourite
Film type: Fiction Feature
Original language: English
Section: Kaleidoscope
Language and subtitles: OV with German subtitles
Director: Yorgos Lanthimos
Screenplay: Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara
Cast: Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, Rachel Weisz, Nicholas Hoult, Joe Alwyn
Producer: Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Yorgos Lanthimos
Director of Photography: Robbie Ryan
Production Design: Fiona Crombie
Editor: Yorgos Mavropsaridis ACE
Sound: 0
Costume design:
Commissioning Editor:
Format: dcp
Printsource: DCP
German Distributor: Twentieth Century Fox of Germany
World Sales: Fox Searchlight
Production: Fox Searchlight, Film4, Waypoint Entertainment
Contact: Janina Dicke, Twentieth Century Fox of Germany:


Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10