30.09. - 09.10.2021

European Exchange

FILMFEST HAMBURG is one of the 12 founding members of the new festival network Europa Film Festival (EFF), which emerged from a project in the context of Galway 2020 European Capital of Culture. The aim of the network is to exchange information among each other and to promote a diverse festival landscape in Europe and beyond.


In the long term, the network aims to act as a strong united voice, taking into account the diversity of its members. Relationships with global distributors and institutions are to be developed, strategic partnerships are to be sought and common positions formulated.

A first cooperation in terms is the competition programme "Peripheral Visions" at this year's Galway Film Fleadh. The EFF member festivals have each selected a film on the themes of "Language, Landscape and Migration". The co-curated programme will be shown online during the Galway Film Fleadh from 7 to 12 July, with the winning film receiving 3000 Euros. FILMFEST HAMBURG selected the film Futur Drei. The queer coming-of-age film by director and screenwriter Faraz Shariat celebrated its world premiere at this year's Berlinale and was co-produced in Hamburg.

Kathrin Kohlstedde, Head of Program at FILMFEST HAMBURG: "The joint exchange with European colleagues is an enrichment and helps to question the ideologies that sometimes influence our festival work with the unique dynamics of the diversity of the members of such a network. In a joint dialogue on a European level, new, free ideas can be developed and unusual solutions found. We are very pleased to have been invited to be part of it."

The founding members of the EFF are

Miriam Allen (Galway Film Fleadh, Ireland),
Alexis Juncosa (Luxembourg City Film Festival, Luxemburg),
Michele Devlin (Belfast Film Festival, Northern Ireland),
Hrönn Marinósdóttir (International Film Festival Reykjavik, Iceland),
Alejandro Díaz Castaño (International Film Festival Gijón, Spain),
Fredau Buwalda (Film Festival Noordelijk, Netherlands),
Kathrin Kohlstedde (Filmfest Hamburg, Germany),
Nektarios Sakkas (International Film Festival Athens, Greece),
Emmanuel Cuénod (International Film Festival Geneva, Switzerland),
Milja Mikkola (Midnight Sun Film Festival, Finland),
Johanna Caraire (Festival International du Film Indépendant de Bordeaux, France)
Guilhem Caillard (Festival de Films francophones Cinemania, Québec/Canada).



Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10