30.09. - 09.10.2021

Discuss Film! Live Europe!

FILMFEST HAMBURG and European Film Academy present 4th European University Film Award.

Five films are competing for the European University Film Award. The jury includes 25 representatives of participating European universities who will come to Hamburg from 3 to 5 December to make their decisions. The announcement and screening of the winning film will take place on 5 December 2019 at 7 p.m. in the Studio Kino. The prize, which was initiated for the fourth time by FILMFEST HAMBURG and the European Film Academy and is supported this year by the Ministry of Science, Research and Equality of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, is one of the official category of the European Film Awards since 2019.

Marion Döring, Managing Director, European Film Academy: "It is very important for us not only to reach a younger audience, but also to involve them, and to spread the European idea even further. Now in its fourth year, together with our partners from Filmfest Hamburg, we welcome the European University Film Award with its 25 participating universities as an official category of the European Film Awards! We are delighted about this successful and forward-looking cooperation and are looking forward to this year' s award winners.

Five films from this year's documentary and feature film selection for the European Film Awards were nominated for the European University Film Award by an international jury (producer Carlo Cresta-Dina, Italy; EFA board member and producer Joanna Szymańska, Poland; lecturer Dagmar Brunow, Linnaeus University, Sweden). The selected films were previewed during the last two months at 25 European universities and discussed in the film classes. Each university will nominate its favourite. 25 student delegates from the participating universities will come to Hamburg from 3 to 5 December 2019 to decide on the winning film, which will be announced at Studio Kino on 5 December 2019 at 7 pm and presented on 6 December 2019, the eve of this year's European Film Awards in Berlin.

Kathrin Kohlstedde, Programme Director FILMFEST HAMBURG: "Films for Future could also be the claim for the European University Film Award. With film experience, with respectful discussion culture being fostered and with a focus on film as a unifying cultural element in a Europe of diversity, we want to promote better communication among European students. The rising success with meanwhile 25 countries and universities attending and the official category of the European Film Awards confirms the relevance of film as part of a common European identity".

The European University Film Award 2019 takes place in cooperation with the NECS - European Network for Cinema and Media Studies and is supported by the Joachim Herz Foundation, Creative Europe Desk Hamburg and, for the first time, by the Ministry of Science, Research and Equality of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, which supports the award with 10,000 euros.

Katharina Fegebank, Senator for Science, Research and Equality: "The European University Film Award is a success story in many sense: the award rewards and promotes outstanding films from European productions and at the same time strengthens cultural exchange - a central pillar of the European idea. This cross-border cooperation is currently more important than ever - especially in the field of film and with a view to international networking at universities. I wish the participating students exciting and discussion-filled days in Hamburg".

Nominated films
And When We Danced Direction & Screenplay: Levin Akin ( Sweden, Georgia, France), God Exists, Her Name is Petrunya Direction: Teona Stugar Mitevska, Screenplay Elma Tataragic & Teona Strugar Mitevska (Northern Macedonia, Belgium, Slovenia, France, Koratia), Piranhas Direction: Claudio Giovannesi, Screenplay: Roberto Saviano, Claudio Giovannesi & Maurizio Braucci (Italy), Portrait of a Lady on Fire Screenplay & Direction: Céline Sciamma (France) und System Crasher, Screenplay & Direction: Nora Fingscheidt (Germany)

Announcement of the winning film and screening
The announcement and screening of the winning film will take place on 5 December 2019 at 7 p.m. in cooperation with  Creative Europe Desk Hamburg and Freundeskreis Filmfest Hamburg e.V. at Studio Kino, Bernstorffstraße 93-95.

Participating Universities
University of Antwerp, Belgium; University of Aarhus, Denmark; Film University of Babelsberg Konrad Wolf, Germany; University of Turku, Finland; Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3, France; University of the Aegean Sea, Greece; University of College Cork, Ireland; University of Udine, Italy; University of Iceland, Iceland; Steve Tisch School of Cinema and Television Studies, Israel; Latvian Academy of Culture, Latvia; Vilnius University, Lithuania; Utrecht University, Netherlands; Vienna University, Austria; Lodz University, Poland; Beira Interior University, Portugal; Sapientia Hungarian University of Transylvania, Romania; Linnaeus University, Sweden; Lausanne University, Switzerland; Belgrade University of the Arts, Serbia; Basque Country University, Spain; Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic; Kadir Has University, Turkey; Liverpool John Moores University, U.K.; Catholic Péter-Pazmany University, Hungary

The European University Film Award 2018 go to Happy as Lazzaro, directed by Alice Rohrwacher, 2017 to Heartstone, directed by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson and 2016 to I, Daniel Blake, directed by Ken Loach.



Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10