30.09. - 09.10.2021

Eufa to Island

After a strong and passionate debate held by 19 students from 19 European countries in Hamburg the Icelandic film Heartstone (Hjartasteinn) by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson is the winner of the second European University Film Award (EUFA).

The winner was announced as part of the 30th European Film Awards in Berlin, at the welcome reception hosted by the Creative Europe Desk on December 8, 2017. The award was presented to Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson by Filmfest Hamburg director Albert Wiederspiel.

From the jury statement: »Heartstone is a story about exploration of identities and growing up within an isolated Icelandic community. It highlights the pressure placed on people to conform to particular gender conventions and social norms. The film offers an individual and unique perspective on the difficulty of experiencing and suppressing same-sex attraction in small, disconnected communities. As an up and coming talent, Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson delivers an immersive story visualized by overwhelming natural landscapes and beautiful performances. It stands out not only because it is a good film, but also because it explores relevant contemporary issues within today's society..«

The jury consisted of: Samira Damato (University of Antwerp / Belgium), Alexej Fonar (Charles University, Prague / Czech Republic), Casper Ørvad Silber (Aarhus University / Denmark), Reetta Pirttikoski (University of Oulu / Finland), Salomé Thiry (Université Sorbonne Nouv. Paris 3. / France), Stine Kutschke (University of Rostock / Germany), Esmerina Hamzallari (University of the Aegean / Greece), Martin Kiss (Pázmány Péter Catholic University / Hungary), Amy Louise O'Callaghan (University College Cork / Ireland), Hed Eliahu Lasry (Sapir College / Israel), Inès Roy (University of Udine / Italy), Femke Sue van Bragt (Utrecht University / Netherlands), Zuzanna Woźniak (University of Lodz / Poland), Tamás Szabó (Sapientia University / Romania), Vanja Senicic (Singidunum University / Serbia), Andrea Landaluce (University of the Basque Country / Spain), Ida Alice Niklasson (Linnaeus University / Sweden), Océane-Marie Wannaz (Université de Lausanne / Switzerland) and Madison Coyle (Liverpool John Moores University / United Kingdom).


Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10