30.09. - 09.10.2021

Douglas Sirk AWard

Since 1995, the Douglas Sirk Award has been given as part of FILMFEST HAMBURG to personalities who have made a special contribution to film culture and the film industry. Clint Eastwood was the first to accept this award, a crystal designed by Hamburg designer Georg Plum.

The eponym of the award is Douglas Sirk, who was born as Hans Detlef Sierck in Hamburg. He emigrated to the USA in 1937 and initially tried his luck as a screenwriter in Hollywood. Sirk celebrated his first success as a director with the melodrama 'Summer Storm'. In the following years, he filmed other successful films from this genre, including Written on the Wind, A Time to Love and a Time to Die and Imitation of Life.

Due to the Covid 19 pandemic, the Douglas Sirk Award will be suspended this year. 

Previous winners:

Clint Eastwood (1995), Stephen Frears (1996), Jodie Foster (1997), Peter Weir (1998), Jim Jarmusch (1999), Wong Kar-Wai (2000), Majid Majidi (2001), Aki Kaurismäki (2002), Isabelle Huppert (2003), François Ozon (2004), Zentropa (2005), Gérard Depardieu (2006), David Cronenberg (2007), Atom Egoyan (2008), Julian Schnabel (2010), Andreas Dresen, Peter Rommel (2011), Kim Ki-duk (2012), Tilda Swinton (2013), Fatih Akin (2014), Catherine Deneuve (2015), Wim Wenders (2017), Jafar Panahi (2018), Nina Hoss (2019)


Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10