Filmfest
#FFHH19
26.9. - 5.10.2019
Hamburg

The Fifth Season Belgium, Netherlands, France 2012 | 90 min | OV | Colour | FF 2012

Peter Brosens

Peter Brosens (1962) started out makingdocumentaries and became well-known for his Mongolian trilogy. Jessica Woodworth (1971) also has abackground in ethnographic film. King ofthe Belgians is their fourth production together. Their last film The Fifth Season won the Arca Cinema Giovani Award at Venice in 2012 and was shown at Filmfest Hamburg. 

Jessica Woodworth

Jessica Woodworth (*1971) also has abackground in ethnographic film. King ofthe Belgians is their fourth production together. Their last film The Fifth Season won the Arca CinemaGiovani Award at Venice in 2012 and was shown at Filmfest Hamburg. 

rated for 0 + years
What would happen if Spring didn't come? If the trees stayed bare, the fields empty and the birds silent? This experimental film tells an archaic fable about a nightmare. A village in the Ardennes experiences a sudden collapse in the seasons.Nature refuses to end its hibernation. The villages' rituals achieve nothing and fertilizer has no effect on the barren earth. Three children, Alice, Thomas and Octave, can only stand and watch as, faced with the end of the natural cycle, civilization falls apart. Community turns to mob, seeking and finding a scapegoat. The Fifth Season is a work of art with few words and unforgettable pictures.
Orig. Title: La cinquième saison
Filmtype: Fiction Feature
Original language: Dutch, French
Tags:
Director: Peter Brosens, Jessica Woodworth
Screenplay: Peter Brosens, Jessica Woodworth
Cast: Aurélia Poirier, Django Schrevens, Sam Louwyck, Gill Vancompernolle
Producer: Peter Brosens,Jessica Woodworth
Sprachfassung: OV
Music: Michel Schöpping
Camera: Hans Bruch Jr.
Set Designer:
Cutter: Jessica Woodworth
Redaktion:
Format: dcp
Printsource:
German Distributor:
World Sales: Films Boutique
Production: Bo Films; Eurimages; Molenwiek Film; Entre Chien et Loup; Unlimited
contact:

Contact

Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10
ed.grubmahtsefmlif@ofni

Filmfest
#FFHH19
26.9. - 5.10.2019
Hamburg

The Fifth Season Belgien, Niederlande, Frankreich 2012 | 90 min | OF | Farbe | FF 2012

Peter Brosens

Peter Brosens (*1962) drehte zunächst ausschließlich Dokumentarfilme und wurde vor allem mit seiner Mongolei-Trilogie bekannt. King of the Belgians ist die vierte gemeinsame Produktion des Duos Peter Brosens und Jessica Woodworth. Ihr vorheriger Film The Fifth Season erhielt in 2012 Venedig den Arca Cinema Giovani Award und wurde bei Filmfest Hamburg gezeigt.

Jessica Woodworth

Jessica Woodworth (*1971) kommt ebenfalls vom ethnografischen Film. King of the Belgians ist die vierte gemeinsame Produktion des Duos. Ihr vorheriger Film The Fifth Season erhielt in 2012 Venedig den Arca Cinema Giovani Award und wurde bei Filmfest Hamburg gezeigt.

empfohlen ab 0 Jahren
Was passiert, wenn der Frühling nicht kommt? Wenn die Bäume kahl, die Felder leer und die Vögel stumm bleiben? Der experimentelle Film erzählt eine archaische Fabel über einen Albtraum. Ein Dorf in den Ardennen erlebt den plötzlichen Kollaps der Jahreszeiten. Die Natur weigert sich, ihren Winterschlaf zu beenden und auszuschlagen. Die normalen Fruchtbarkeitsrituale der Dörfler schlagen fehl, kein Dünger bewirkt das Wachstum. Die drei Kinder Alice, Thomas und Octave müssen mitansehen, wie mit dem Ende des natürlichen Zyklus’ die Zivilisation um sie herum einstürzt. Die Gemeinschaftwird zum Mob, der einen Schuldigen sucht und findet. The Fifth Season ist ein Kunstwerk aus wenigen Worten und brillanten Bildern.
Originaltitel: La cinquième saison
Filmtyp: Spielfilm
Originalsprache: Niederländisch, Französisch
Tags:
Regie: Peter Brosens, Jessica Woodworth
Drehbuch: Peter Brosens, Jessica Woodworth
Darsteller: Aurélia Poirier, Django Schrevens, Sam Louwyck, Gill Vancompernolle
Produzent: Peter Brosens,Jessica Woodworth
Sprachfassung: OF
Musik: Michel Schöpping
Kamera: Hans Bruch Jr.
Set Designer:
Schnitt: Jessica Woodworth
Redaktion:
Format: dcp
Printsource:
Deutscher Verleih:
Weltvertrieb: Films Boutique
Produktion: Bo Films; Eurimages; Molenwiek Film; Entre Chien et Loup; Unlimited
Kontakt: