Filmfest
#FFHH20
24.9. - 3.10.2020
Hamburg

Death in the Land of Encantos Philippines 2007 | 543 min | OV with English subtitles | Black & White | FF 2019

Lav Diaz

LAV DIAZ (*1958) is one of today’s most influential film-makers. His films, known for their length and unique style, have won prizes in Venice, Locarno and Berlin. FILMFEST HAMBURG showed his films From What Is Before (FF2014) and The Woman Who Left (FF2016).

rated for 0 + years
HYBRID When the world goes out of kilter: a nine-hour plunge into a shattered country and the survivors. In 2006, the Philippine region of Bicol was hit by catastrophe. First came the eruption of the volcano Mayo and a few weeks later a typhoon struck. Thousands were killed in mudslides. Diaz conducted interviews with survivors directly after the storm and interwove the material with a fictional story, in which the poet Benjamin returns to his devastated home country after years away. He manages to find two of his old friends, but has no chance against the destruction of the present and the traumas of the past. In Benjamin’s search and despair, the film densifies into a monumental discourse on the artist and his world.
Website:
Orig. Title: Kagadanan Sa Banwaan Ning Mga Engkanto
Filmtype: Fiction Feature
Original language: Tagalog, Filipino, English
Section: Asia Express
Tags:
Director: Lav Diaz
Screenplay: Lav Diaz
Cast: Roeder Camañag, Perry Dizon, Angeli Bayani, Dante Perez, Soliman Cruz, Gemma Cuenca, Sophia Aves, At Maculangan, Jenny Guinto, Amalia Virtucio, Kalila Aguilos, Juan Francisco Peñaranda, Ashleigh Beatrice Peñaranda, Jason Escobel
Producer: Lav Diaz
Sprachfassung: OV with English subtitles
Music:
Director of Photography: Lav Diaz
Production Design: Dante Perez
Editor: Lav Diaz
Commissioning Editor:
Format: BluRay
Printsource:
German Distributor:
World Sales: Sine Olivia Pilipinas
Production: Sine Olivia Pilipinas
Contact: Hazel Orencio, Sine Olivia Pilipinas: hazelorencio@gmail.com

Contact

Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10
ed.grubmahtsefmlif@ofni

Filmfest
#FFHH19
26.9. - 5.10.2019
Hamburg
Tickets kaufen Tickets kaufen

Death in the Land of Encantos Philippinen 2007 | 543 min | OF mit engl. UT | s&w | FF 2019

Lav Diaz

LAV DIAZ (*1958 auf Mindanao, Philippinen) ist einer der einflussreichsten Filmemacher der Gegenwart. Für seine Arbeiten, die sich durch ihre massiven Laufzeiten und stilistische Einzigartigkeit auszeichnen, gewann er bereits Preise in Venedig, Locarno und Berlin. FILMFEST HAMBURG zeigte bereits seine Filme From What Is Before (FF2014) sowie The Woman Who Left (FF2016).

empfohlen ab 0 Jahren
HYBRID Wenn die Welt die Ordnung verliert: Eine neunstündige Versenkung in ein zerrüttetes Land und seine Überlebenden. 2006 suchte eine Katastrophe die philippinische Region Bicol heim. Zuerst brach der Vulkan Mayon aus, wenige Wochen später traf ein Taifun eben dort das Land. Schlammlawinen töteten Tausende. Diaz führte direkt nach dem Sturm Interviews mit Überlenden und verwob das Material mit einer fiktionalen Geschichte. In ihr kehrt der Poet Benjamin nach Jahren im Ausland in seine zerstörte Heimat zurück. Dort findet er zwar noch zwei seiner Freunde vor, kann aber zwischen der Zerstörung der Gegenwart und den Traumata der Vergangenheit nicht ankommen. In Benjamins Suche und Verzweiflung verdichtet sich der Film zu einem monumentalen Diskurs über den Künstler und seine Welt.
Website:
Originaltitel: Kagadanan Sa Banwaan Ning Mga Engkanto
Filmtyp: Spielfilm
Originalsprache: Tagalog, Filipino, Englisch
Sektion: Asia Express
Regie: Lav Diaz
Drehbuch: Lav Diaz
Darsteller: Roeder Camañag, Perry Dizon, Angeli Bayani, Dante Perez, Soliman Cruz, Gemma Cuenca, Sophia Aves, At Maculangan, Jenny Guinto, Amalia Virtucio, Kalila Aguilos, Juan Francisco Peñaranda, Ashleigh Beatrice Peñaranda, Jason Escobel
Produzent: Lav Diaz
Sprachfassung: OF mit engl. UT
Musik:
Kamera: Lav Diaz
Szenenbild: Dante Perez
Schnitt: Lav Diaz
Redaktion:
Format: BluRay
Printsource:
Deutscher Verleih:
Weltvertrieb: Sine Olivia Pilipinas
Produktion: Sine Olivia Pilipinas
Kontakt: Hazel Orencio, Sine Olivia Pilipinas: hazelorencio@gmail.com

Vorstellungen

Sa, 05.10. - 12:00
Abaton Klein

Gäste
Lav Diaz (Regisseur/Director)