Filmfest
#FFHH20
24.9. - 3.10.2020
Hamburg

The Cut Germany, France, Italy, Canada, Poland, Russia, Turkey 2014 | 138 min | OV with English subtitles, OV | Colour | FF 2014

Fatih Akin

Fatih Akin is one of the most successful film directors in Germany. Gangster films, family sagas, love stories or road movies - Akin’s films defy any boundaries set between genres and stand for young, unconventional cinema.

Fatih Akin was born in Hamburg in 1973, son of Turkish immigrants. On completing high school, he studied Visual Communications at the Hamburger Hochschule für bildende Künste (HfbK). His debut as a film director was in 1998 with “Kurz und schmerzlos” ("Short Sharp Shock"). For his fourth film, “Head-On”, Fatih Akin was awarded the Golden Bear at the Berlinale, the German Film Award and the European Film Award. In 2005, he was a member of the jury at Cannes International Film Festival, where he also celebrated the world premiere of his film "Auf der anderen Seite" ("The Edge of Heaven") in 2007. The film received the Best Screenplay Award.

Fatih Akin works as a director and producer in Hamburg.

rated for 0 + years
DOUGLAS SIRK AWARD CEREMONY

Mardin, 1915: one night, the Turkish gendarmerie round up all the Armenian men. The young blacksmith Nazaret Manoogian is separated from his family. After he manages to escape the horror of the genocide, years later he learns that his twin daughters also survived. Obsessed with the idea of finding them, he begins looking. His search takes him from the deserts of Mesopotamis via Havanna to the prairies of North Dakota. On his odyssey, he meets all varieties of humanity: angelically good characters, but also the devil in human form.

With The Cut, Fatih Akin completes his trilogy Love, Death and Devils. Gegen die Wand [Head-On] (2004) tells of the uncompromising will to live of a young German-Turkish woman, who has to experience that there is often only a hair's breadth between pain and love. Auf der anderen Seite [The Edge of Heaven] (2007) is the story of six people whose paths cross without touching. Only death brings them together. The Cut deals with the devil. The film is about the evil in humans, about what we do to other people. Unconsciously or willingly, because the boundary between good and evil is often fluid. The last part of the trilogy is also marked by Fatih Akin's world view: "The Cut became a very personal film: its content addresses my conscience and its form addresses my love for the cinema."

Orig. Title: The Cut
Filmtype: Fiction Feature
Original language:
Section: Caleidoscope
Tags:
Director: Fatih Akin
Screenplay: Fatih Akin, Mardik Martin
Cast: Tahar Rahim, Simon Abkarian, Makram J. Khoury, Hindi Zahra, Kevork Malikyan, Bartu Küçükçağlayan, Trine Dyrholm, Moritz Bleibtreu
Producer: Fatih Akin,Karl Baumgartner,Reinhard Brundig,Nurhan Sekerci-Porst
Sprachfassung: OV with English subtitles, OV
Music: Alexander Hacke
Director of Photography: Rainer Klausmann
Production Design: Allan Starski
Editor: Andrew Bird
Commissioning Editor:
Format: dcp
Printsource:
German Distributor: Pandora Film
World Sales: The Match Factory
Production: bombero international; Pyramide Productions; Pandora Film; corazón international; NDR; ARD Degeto; France 3 Cinéma; dorje film; Mars Media Entertainment; Opus Film; Jordan Films; Anadolu Kültür
Contact: The Match Factory: festivals@matchfactory.de

Contact

Filmfest Hamburg gGmbH | Mönckebergstraße 18 | D-20095 Hamburg
Tel. +49 40 399 19 00 0 | Fax. +49 40 399 19 00 10
ed.grubmahtsefmlif@ofni

Filmfest
#FFHH19
26.9. - 5.10.2019
Hamburg
Tickets kaufen Tickets kaufen

The Cut Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Kanada, Polen, Russland, Türkei 2014 | 138 min | OF mit englischen UT, OF | Farbe | FF 2014

Fatih Akin

Fatih Akin gehört zu den erfolgreichsten Regisseuren Deutschlands. Ob Gangsterfilm, Familiensaga, Liebesgeschichte oder Roadmovie: Seine Filme stehen über alle Genregrenzen hinweg für junges und unkonventionelles Kino.

Fatih Akin wurde 1973 in Hamburg als Sohn türkischer Einwanderer geboren. Nach dem Abitur studierte er Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hamburger Hochschule für bildende Künste (HfbK). 1998 debütierte er als Spielfilmregisseur mit „Kurz und schmerzlos“. Für seinen vierten Spielfilm „Gegen die Wand“ wurde Fatih Akin 2004 mit dem Goldenen Bären, dem Deutschen Filmpreis und dem Europäischen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet. 2005 war er Mitglied der Jury bei den internationalen Filmfestspielen in Cannes, in deren Wettbewerb er 2007 auch die Weltpremiere seines Films „Auf der anderen Seite“ 2007 feierte. Der Film wurde mit dem Preis für das beste Drehbuch ausgezeichnet.

Fatih Akin arbeitet als Regisseur und Produzent in Hamburg.

empfohlen ab 0 Jahren
DOUGLAS-SIRK-PREISVERLEIHUNG

Mardin, 1915: Eines Nachts treibt die türkische Gendarmerie alle armenischen Männer zusammen. Auch der junge Schmied Nazaret Manoogian wird von seiner Familie getrennt. Nachdem es ihm gelingt, den Horror des Völkermordes zu überleben, erreicht ihn Jahre später die Nachricht, dass seine Zwillingstöchter am Leben sind. Besessen von dem Gedanken, sie wiederzufinden, folgt er ihren Spuren. Sie führen ihn von den Wüsten Mesopotamiens über Havanna bis in die kargen, einsamen Prärien North Dakotas. Auf seiner Odyssee begegnet er den unterschiedlichsten Menschen: engelsgleichen und gütigen Charakteren, aber auch dem Teufel in Menschengestalt.

Mit THE CUT vollendet Fatih Akin seine Trilogie „Liebe, Tod und Teufel“. Ging es in Gegen die Wand (2004) um den unbedingten Lebenswillen einer jungen Deutschtürkin, die erleben muss, dass zwischen Schmerz und Liebe oft nur eine Haaresbreite liegt, so erzählte Auf der anderen Seite (2007) die Geschichte von sechs Menschen, deren Wege sich kreuzen, ohne sich zu berühren. Erst der Tod führt sie zusammen. The Cut widmet sich nun dem „Teufel“. Der Film handelt vom Bösen im Menschen, davon, was wir anderen Menschen antun. Unbewusst oder willentlich, denn die Grenze zwischen Gut und Böse ist oft fließend. Auch der letzte Teil der Trilogie ist geprägt von Fatih Akins Sicht auf die Welt: „The Cut ist ein sehr persönlicher Film geworden, der sich inhaltlich mit meinem Gewissen und formal mit meiner Liebe zum Kino auseinandersetzt“.

Originaltitel: The Cut
Filmtyp: Spielfilm
Originalsprache:
Sektion: Kaleidoskop
Tags:
Regie: Fatih Akin
Drehbuch: Fatih Akin, Mardik Martin
Darsteller: Tahar Rahim, Simon Abkarian, Makram J. Khoury, Hindi Zahra, Kevork Malikyan, Bartu Küçükçağlayan, Trine Dyrholm, Moritz Bleibtreu
Produzent: Fatih Akin,Karl Baumgartner,Reinhard Brundig,Nurhan Sekerci-Porst
Sprachfassung: OF mit englischen UT, OF
Musik: Alexander Hacke
Kamera: Rainer Klausmann
Szenenbild: Allan Starski
Schnitt: Andrew Bird
Redaktion:
Format: dcp
Printsource:
Deutscher Verleih: Pandora Film
Weltvertrieb: The Match Factory
Produktion: bombero international; Pyramide Productions; Pandora Film; corazón international; NDR; ARD Degeto; France 3 Cinéma; dorje film; Mars Media Entertainment; Opus Film; Jordan Films; Anadolu Kültür
Kontakt: The Match Factory: festivals@matchfactory.de